Your web browser is not supported anymore. works with a wide range of browsers. However, if you'd like to use many of our latest and greatest features, please upgrade to a modern, fully supported browser.
Find the latest versions of our supported browsers below.
  • The sixth airport in London

    Aug 06, 2012, 10:08
    Hot Pic Title

    The International Air Transport Association (IATA) officially added London Southend Airport to the Metropolitan Area of London. It means that this airport from now will be officially known as London Southend all over the world.

    Civil Aviation Authority has always classified Essex airport as London's, but IATA saw things differently. And now, after the official approval, travelers planning to visit London will have an opportunity to choose from six airports: Gatwick, Heathrow, City, Stansted, Luton and from now on – Southend. It is also possible to book a car hire and pick it up at any of these airports.

    It is expected that Southend Airport, bought by Stobart Group in 2008, will serve up to two million passengers up to 2020. Airport representatives consider it as a great news that will help to improve the service in the Olympic capital. According to them, passengers departing from London Southend will spend four minutes at most on a safety check and those who arrive just with a carry-on luggage will be able to take a train already in 15 minutes after they get out of the plane and in 30 minutes if they need to wait for their luggage.

    From now on even more people will have an opportunity to enjoy London Southend Airport high quality of service.

    Other news